What a Fool Believes…

August 12, 2012 by idiotuntil30


“Ok, so who would make a good president?”

On Saturday, I had the awesome experience of taking my mom to see “The Dukes of September

It was a truly great show. Before my time, yes, but I know good music. And this is some of the best.

Most of the music these guys play is from the 70’s and 80’s, and the hits include “I Keep Forgettin'” “Look At What You’ve Done To Me” and “Takin’ It To The Streets”

But before the show, my mom and I were waxing nostalgic about, well, everything. It happens when a mother and son get together. Music, family, food, stupid things my friends and I did…etc.

Eventually the conversation caught up to the present, and turned presidential.

Mom and I have never completely agreed politically, and we probably never will. Neither of us are extremely politically active. You won’t find us at a rally or at a $1,000 plate fundraiser. But, we do have our views on how the whole thing should and shouldn’t work. The one thing I think we do  agree on is that nobody at the moment is doing it right.

But she asked me a question that I couldn’t answer right a way, which made me feel a little foolish. (Mothers have a way of doing that.) It kept me thinking long after the concert was over too.

Who would be good at being president?

Go back in time, and erase our current political climate, and you get a very different picture of our nation’s top leadership. It took a lot more than good looks and the right P.R. manager to get elected.

So, to be honest, I have no idea who would make a good president. I’m sure you could think of few people whom you believe would qualify, and you might be right.

But I’ve maintained for a long time that if you don’t find the candidate you’re looking for, then don’t vote for them. If you’re voting for the lesser of to “evil’s,” then it seems to me, that’s not much of a choice.

In no way am I saying that either of our current presidential candidates is evil, or if you feel they are right for the job that you shouldn’t vote for them. By all means, if you agree with their vision for the office and it’s role in our life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness, then you should vote for them.

But if you don’t, then what ARE you voting for?

Derek Webb puts it this way;

Some would say that not voting is giving your vote over to those who seek to use the governmental process for evil. I would actually argue the opposite. By voting, especially when based on just one or two issues, you’re giving your ‘yes’ and ‘amen’ to that party’s entire platform, which likely goes far beyond the statement you’re trying to make on these few issues. This is certainly more perilous and less nuanced than abstaining altogether. No party can co-opt a vote that isn’t cast.

So the question still remains…who would be a good president?

Good Question.

